The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the NHL's top goalie.

Rangers Shutout of NHL Awards

The National Hockey League’s 2011 Annual Awards will be presented in Las Vegas, June 22, unfortunately there’s not a NY Ranger player to be found in the list of nominations.

In looking over the list of award categories and nominees, I’m surprised and a bit puzzled as to why Henrik Lundqvist was not nominated for the Vezina Trophy, the award for the top goalie.

The Vezina Trophy nominees are:  Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks for his 2.11 GAA; Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators for his 33 wins; and Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins for his .938 save percentage.

All nice but if you line up all the goalies  and look down the statistical chart one number stands out: 11–That’s the number of shutouts Lundquist had this past season.

The next nearest to Lundquist are Ilya Bryzgalov of Phoenix and Jaroslav Halak of St. Louis, both with seven.

Lundqvist earned shutouts like Nolan Ryan threw no-hitters and it’s a shame that he didn’t receive a nomination this year for his accomplishment.


Next Rangers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov7:00Winnipeg JetsBuy Tickets

Tags: Henrik Lundquist NHL Awards The Vezina Trophy

comments powered by Disqus