Apr. 18, 2013; New York, NY, USA; New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist (30) receives the first star of the game award after the game at Madison Square Garden. Rangers won 6-1. Mandatory Credit: Debby Wong-USA TODAY Sports

New York Rangers Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award

On July 12, 1986 three shots, from point-blank range, left Detective Steven McDonald a quadriplegic. At the conclusion of the following season, the New York Rangers established the “Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award“. Each year the New York Rangers donate a $25,000.00 check, in the winning player’s name, to the Steven McDonald foundation. The winner is also presented a trophy from McDonald himself.

Each year votes are cast for the player who goes “above and beyond the call of duty” for the team. In four of the last five years, Ryan Callahan was named the winner of this award. This year there will be a new winner given the trade status of Callahan. The only player on the current roster who has ever received the award previously is Henrik Lundqvist. The full list of previous winners looks like this:

Ryan Callahan 2012-13
Ryan Callahan 2011-12
Brandon Prust 2010-11
Ryan Callahan 2009-10
Ryan Callahan 2008-09
Brandon Dubinsky 2007-08
Jed Ortmeyer 2006-07
Henrik Lundqvist 2005-06
Jed Ortmeyer 2003-04
Mathew Barnaby 2002-03
Sandy McCarthy 2001-02
Sandy McCarthy 2000-01
Adam Graves 1999-00
Adam Graves 1998-99
Wayne Gretzky 1997-98
Brian Leetch 1996-97
Mark Messier 1995-96
Mark Messier 1994-95
Adam Graves 1993-94
Adam Graves 1992-93
Adam Graves 1991-92
Jan Erixon 1990-91
John Vanbiesbrouck and Kelly Kisio 1989-90
Tony Granato 1988-89
Jan Erixon 1987-88

Unlike most awards in the NHL, there isn’t a precursor of discussions about finalists or possible nominations. There is no ballot that goes out to the press core or the all-knowing and almighty “they” somewhere in the stratosphere. This award is largely chosen by the fans. While there are always those looking to discuss their thoughts via the many social media outlets, the award remains largely a surprise when the winner is named. Voting for the award ended last night at 11:59PM ET. Between today and tomorrow, our staff will be sharing our thoughts on who we think should win the award and why. Who would, or did, you chose to win and why? Leave us comments and tell us what you think.

Next Rangers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov7:00Winnipeg JetsBuy Tickets

Tags: Henrik Lundqvist New York Rangers Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award

comments powered by Disqus